Databases

Archaeology

Recommended Databases

  • Annual international index covering all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity from Prehistory to 800 A.D. Coverage begins with 1969. Subjects include Greek and Roman history, literature, art, philosophy, archaeology, religion, law, music, science and more.

  • Combined indexes on anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research from Harvard's Tozzer Library and the Royal Anthropological Institute.

    Simultaneous User Limit: 4

  • JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. (Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.)

    * On August 1, 2024, Artstor will fully merge with JSTOR, and the Artstor platform will be retired. All Artstor content is now available on the JSTOR platform.

  • Bibliographic catalog of books, periodicals, cd-roms, videos, archival materials and photographs published worldwide.

  • Enormous index to scholarly journals in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from the first issue to the present. Provides the ability to search on cited references as well as more typical search criteria.

Related Databases

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • Important texts in anthropology including ethnographies, field notes, memoirs and previously unpublished material from archives.

  • Composed of over 2.5 million images, Artstor provides faculty and students with a comprehensive image resource in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of your discipline.

    * On August 1, 2024, Artstor will fully merge with JSTOR, and the Artstor platform will be retired.

  • An international index to scholarly journals and collected works published in many languages on topics of classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern art and archaeology. Indexing with citations only.