Databases

Hebrew and Hebraic Studies History

Research Guides

Recommended Databases

  • Index compiled by the American Theological Library Association to books and periodicals covering all aspects of religion and related topics.

  • The full text of hundreds of reference books. Alternate access via CUNY login credentials

  • JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. (Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.)

    * On August 1, 2024, Artstor will fully merge with JSTOR, and the Artstor platform will be retired. All Artstor content is now available on the JSTOR platform.

  • An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.

Related Databases

  • Composed of over 2.5 million images, Artstor provides faculty and students with a comprehensive image resource in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of your discipline.

    * On August 1, 2024, Artstor will fully merge with JSTOR, and the Artstor platform will be retired.

  • Gale’s integrated research platform for their literary resources. It searches multiple literature databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.

  • Resource to worldwide content on all aspects of the humanities in more than 1,450 full-text journals back to 1907.

  • Index to locating literature, internationally and from all time periods, with the full-text of thousands of poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays. Also includes biographies, work summaries and a glossary.

  • Index to literary criticism and linguistic research in journals, books and dissertations worldwide from 1963 to present.