databases

HistoryMakers Oral History Database

The Hunter College Libraries acquired a new database called The HistoryMakers (login required), "an archive of filmed oral history interviews of contemporary African Americans who have shaped modern history and made significant contributions to history, politics, education, law, arts, science, business, the military, and sports."

Life Magazine Archive online

We now have access to the full Life Magazine archive online. Find it in our Databases list under the letter L. It includes full page scans from the magazine from 1936-2000, with all the advertisements and all context indexed and searchable. 

Visual researchers, take note! This is an excellent place for 20th Century American research.

A search for SPAM yielded this gem from 1940:

Database Trials: Kanopy Streaming Video and Early American Newspapers

Early American Newspapers trial through December 5, 2014: Full text of early American newspapers (Early American Newspapers Series 1, 1690-1876) from Newsbank.

Kanopy Streaming Video through November 21: Streaming videos on the Kanopy platform; trial content includes MEF, Criterion Collection, PBS, First Run Features, Green Planet films and more.

Find these and all our trial databases here: http://library.hunter.cuny.edu/databases/type/14

Database Trial: NewspaperARCHIVE.com

We have a trial to NewspaperARCHIVE.com through November 15, 2014. All our trial databases are available from the Databases tab on the library homepage when you select Browse by Type --> Trial Products

"NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the largest historical newspaper database online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1607 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content."